So it’s been a while. My classes have started back and I’ve been really busy. I have been cooking though, even if not as much as I want. It’s been really cold here and it’s snowing now so for dinner last night I wanted to make something warm and heavy. I made cheesy ham chowder from Kitchenette’s blog. Very yummy. It was so full of cheese and bacon that my husband has decided to call it heart attack soup. Worth every calorie in my opinion. I did add some Cajun seasonings that I had in the spice rack, may try it with Tabasco in my next bowl…

I made rotisserie chicken salad for this post because it’s simple.

Not exactly photogenic, but easy. The trick is using a store-bought rotisserie chicken, I prefer the lemon pepper ones, and getting all your meat off of it.


Rotisserie Chicken Salad

Ingredients:

1 Rotisserie chicken from Kroger, Publix or the like. Remember the seasonings from the chicken will be in your salad.
2 stalks of celery, washed, trimmed and chopped
1 cup mayonnaise
2 Tbs mustard
1-2 Tbs balsamic vinegar
1 tsp paprika
salt and pepper to taste

Take the skin off of your chicken and throw it out. Pull the meat off and use your fingers to shred it as you go. There’s a lot of meat on these birds so take your time and try to get it all.

Add in the celery, mayonnaise, mustard, paprika, salt, pepper and HALF of the balsamic vinegar. Mix it up well and taste it. I advocate always tasting your food as you go. If you think it needs the kick from the other tablespoon of vinegar or even more, go ahead and add it in.

That’s it. You’re done. See why I like making this?

Good Tasting!
~Chesh

